This is a post from a blog that I ave been following recently. I thought I would pass it along to my readers. Heidi is an American who is living abroad in Greece and is married to a Greek man who works in a public sector job. Her posts often carry a unique perspective on the Greek financial crisis as she has a first hand look at what is happening in the Greek economy through the eyes of an American living through the results of the Greek austerity measures. It is a sobering look at what can happen when the economy of a country gets out of control.

In this post she talks about the media bias and seeming misrepresentation of the crisis in Greece. This is a good reminder that we should never accept any one perspective on a situation as fact without reinforcing it by doing our own research. Every source has an agenda or a “take” on a situation. It is important for us to realize this so that we can either select a source that has priorities and ideals aligned with our own, or to seek opposing viewpoints to see both sides of the story (or at least opposing “takes”). We have got to do our homework!

For more of her take on the Greek economic crisis check out the posts filed under “Financial Ruin” on Heidi’s blog homeingreece.It seems to me that there is much for us as Americans to learn from this situation in Greece. You can read Heidi’s entire post by clicking on the heading of this portion of the post that I reblogged here.

Enjoy the reading.

homeingreece

I haven’t seen my father in over two years, but that doesn’t mean I don’t think about him all the time.  He’s a very brilliant and accomplished man, but also the type to overwhelm you with his expectations, which are almost impossible to meet.  So I spent my childhood (and let’s be honest, my adulthood too) kind of in awe of him.

Newspapers, radio news programs, and television news always wanted to interview him about various things:  as the expert in his field, getting an interview with him was valuable to them.  But he always turned them down.

“Never talk to the media,” he told me, when I was about twelve, in his way of giving us advice decades before we could possibly have any reason to use it.

He had been interviewed once, I think in the ’70s, and his words were quoted in such a way that they…

View original post 332 more words

Leave a Reply

