What is the Tinkerer’s Tool Chest?

Lately I have been thinking a lot about the direction of this blog. In addition to being a project log of sorts, this is a place for me to organize my thoughts, learn a little bit about things that intrigue me, and to voice my opinions about the issues at hand. But what kind of tool chest does the tinkerer use (no, the blog is not the “tinkerer Stool chest” as some have mused that’s just gross!).

Let me give you a hint in the form of a drawing by Leonardo da Vinci:

 

The human head drawn by Leonardo da Vinci

The human head drawn by Leonardo da Vinci (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The tool chest to which I refer is the noggin’ that the Good Lord gave each one of us. The tools that are used in tinkering are for the most part your mental faculties. Regardless of what mechanical aptitudes or physical tools you possess we all have the ability to gain knowledge. Knowledge it the greatest tool of all.

I have talked some in previous posts about my approach to the “Prepper” mentality, and I think this subject is the perfect example of what I am talking about. I don’t know how most other people are, but I react much better to a difficult situation if I am mentally prepared. Having prepared mentally for a challenge makes success much more likely.

So while I may talk some about tools here (My previous top 10 tools posts) the majority of my time at the keyboard is spent talking about subjects that can teach us something. Regardless of the funds available, the time that you have to spend, or the availability of the facilities to work on a project, we all can read and learn. Having the knowledge of a few basic skills makes us all more rounded individuals and a better asset to the society in which we live.

So get out there and try something new. This weekend. Learn a new skill or exercise an old one. Work, sweat, and strain those muscles and mental faculties. It makes us all a better people for doing it.

 

“I am always doing what I cannot do yet, in order to learn how to do it.” — Vincent Willem van Gogh

 

Leave a Reply

